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website for the latest update. Information abo
 
 
 
1. Building at the Desert 
 
Building Close to the Desert (new 2004-05-10
Q: May I build a road or settlement at the
A: No, never. This is only permitted when
no longer exists since it has been replace
 
Building Roads Connected to the Desert (new
Q: May I build a road that is connected to
ends of the road touches upon the desert
A: Yes, this is permitted. 
 
 
2. The Capitol Distance Rule in Gener
 
Distance Rule to Buildings near the Capitol (n
Q: Can I build a settlement at the capitol t
located one intersection away from the ca
A: No, not unless this action is legal acco
Short Distance). The Capitol Distance Ru
building outside of the capitol. 
 
Number of Buildings at the Capitol (new 2004
Q: Can I build a settlement which is the fo
A: There is no formal limit as the number 
Distance Rule does not as such prohibit t
can build it without breaking any other rul
 
 
3. Agreements at the Capitol 
 
Using Benefits through General Access (new
Q: If I announce an agreement with Gene
benefit in the same turn? 
A: No. According to Rule 9 in the Genera
you cannot, after gaining access to an ali
So, the benefit may be used by you (and 
before. 
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 borders or intersections of the desert? 
 the capitol has been established, in which case the desert 
d by the capitol. 

 2004-05-10) 
 the desert but not built on its border, i.e. if only one of the 
? 

al 

ew 2004-05-10) 
hat is only one intersection away from a building that is 
pitol? 

rding to another rule that you are permitted to use (e.g. 
le does not apply between a building at the capitol and a 

-05-10) 
urth building at the capitol? Is there a limit? 
of buildings that can be built at the capitol. The Capitol 
he building of a fourth settlement at the capitol and if you 
e in the game, the action is permitted. 

 2004-05-10) 
ral Access for a particular alien benefit, may I use this 

l Rules for Alien Benefits (which applies also to this case), 
en benefit, use the benefit until the present turn has expired. 
by your opponents) when your turn has expired, but not 
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Placing Access Tokens at the Same Alien Intersection (new 2004-05-10) 
Q: Can I place an access token at an intersection that is already occupied by another access token? 
A: No. The new access token must be placed at an unoccupied alien intersection and all 
intersections with access tokens are considered occupied. 
 
Right of Announcement in Relation to Building – Clarification (new 2004-05-10) 
Q: Suppose that I have built a settlement at the capitol but have not yet announced an agreement. 
What happens if my opponents announce a total of three agreements before I announce my own? 
 A: Only the first three settlements that are built at the Capitol are entitled to an agreement. If, when 
you built your settlement, there were fewer than three buildings already at the capitol, there is no 
legal way in which the opponents may have already announced three agreements before you 
announce yours. Your right to announce an agreement will not be cancelled. On the other hand, if 
there were already three or more buildings at the capitol when you built your settlement, you have 
never been permitted to announce an agreement in the first place and therefore cannot do it now 
either. 
 
 
4. General Access (and No Access) to Alien Benefits 
 
Placing the Infiltrator on an Access Token (new 2004-05-10) 
Q: If I place the Infiltrator at an alien intersection that is occupied by an access token, may I then take 
a card from any opponent? 
A: No. The access token does not as such permit you to take a card from a player. If, however, an 
opponent has built a building at the same intersection, you may take a card from this player. 
 
 
5. Free Settlements (Alien Benefit) and Capitol 
 
Building Free Settlements at the Capitol (new 2004-05-10) 
Q: Can I build a free settlement at the capitol. What rules apply? 
A: Yes. A free settlement can be built at the capitol, also with the Capitol Distance Rule. The rules for 
Module: Capitol refer explicitly also to free settlements on this point. 
 
Using Free Settlements for Capitol Agreements (new 2004-05-10) 
Q: Can I use a free settlement to announce an agreement at the capitol? 
A: No. A free settlement does not function like a normal settlement in this respect. If and when, 
however, the free settlement is converted to a normal settlement, this equals, for all intent and 
purpose, the building of a new settlement at the same intersection. 
 
Using Free Settlements in Relation to Capitol Agreements I (new 2004-05-10) 
Q: Can I reserve the right to announce a capitol agreement by building a free settlement at the 
capitol? Suppose that I build a free settlement at the capitol. There are only two buildings (of other 
players) at the capitol at the time. Then one opponent builds a normal settlement at the capitol. Can 
he announce an agreement at this time? 
A: Yes, he can. He has built the third building at the capitol, since your free settlement does not count 
as a building in this case (see also the previous question). 
 
Using Free Settlements in Relation to Capitol Agreements II (new 2004-05-10) 
Q: (Note: this is a follow-up to the previous question.) What if I, after the opponent has built his 
settlement, convert my free settlement to a normal settlement and then announce an agreement 
before him? Is this legal? 
A: No. When you converted your free settlement to a normal settlement, this action constituted the 
fourth building of a settlement at the capitol. You are not entitled to announce an agreement on the 
basis of this settlement. 
 
Access Token and Free Settlements (new 2004-05-10) 
Q: Can I place an access token at an alien intersection that is occupied by a free settlement? 
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A: No. A free settlement makes an alien intersection occupied and the access token must be placed 
at an unoccupied alien intersection. 
 
 
6. Short Distance (Alien Benefit) and Capitol 
 
Short Distance and the Capitol Distance Rule I (new 2004-05-10) 
Q: What if the rules of Short Distance and the rules of the Capitol Distance Rule contradict each 
other? I will provide some examples in my next questions! 
A: These rules cannot contradict each other. Try me! 
 
Short Distance and the Capitol Distance Rule II (new 2004-05-10) 
Q: Suppose that I have access to alien benefit Short Distance. I am about to build a settlement at the 
capitol that is only one intersection away from a building (owned by another player) that is located 
one intersection away from the capitol. Is this legal or not? 
A: This is resolved according to the rules of Short Distance. The Capitol Distance Rule only applies 
between buildings if both are located at the capitol. 
 
Short Distance and the Capitol Distance Rule III (new 2004-05-10) 
Q: Suppose that I am about to build a settlement at the capitol that will be the fourth building at the 
capitol. Is this legal or not and which rule set applies? 
A: Building a fourth building at a hex (including the capitol) is only illegal if you build it using Short 
Distance, not if you can build it using the Capitol Distance Rule. So if it is legal to build the settlement 
according to the Capitol Distance Rule without using Short Distance, you may build it. 
 
Short Distance and the Capitol Distance Rule IV (new 2004-05-10) 
Q: Suppose that I am about to build a settlement at the capitol in a way that requires of me to use the 
Capitol Distance Rule. I also have access to Short Distance, but the neighbouring resource hex that 
will be adjacent to the settlement already has three adjacent buildings. It seems that I would then be 
permitted to build the settlement according to the Capitol Distance Rule, but be forbidden to build it 
according to the rules of Short Distance. So I have found a situation whereby the rules contradict 
each other! 
A. No. The Capitol Distance Rule makes an exemption to the distance rule that only concerns the 
relation between two buildings (of different players) at the capitol. It does not make an exemption to 
any other rule in the game. An action using the Capitol Distance Rule is only permitted if all other 
rules in the game are observed and since Short Distance explicitly forbids the building of a fourth 
building around a hex, your action is not legal. 
 
Short Distance and the Capitol Distance Rule V (new 2004-05-10) 
Q: Suppose that I have access to Short Distance and wish to build a settlement at the capitol that is 
only one intersection away from another building at the capitol that is owned by me. Is this legal or 
not? Can I also announce an agreement at the capitol for this new settlement? 
A: Yes, if legal according to all other rules. The Capitol Distance Rule does not as such permit the 
building of a settlement adjacent to another building owned by the same player, but it does not 
explicitly prohibit this either. Instead, this action is prohibited by the normal distance rule. But since 
alien benefit Short Distance allows you to overrule the normal distance rule, your action might be 
legal if you have access to this benefit. 
 
 
7. [Module: Development]: Enlarged Agreement (Development Card) 
 
Shortage of Access Tokens (new 2004-05-10) 
Q: If, when announcing an agreement, I am not able to use the type of access token that I want 
because it is no longer available in the general supply, what shall I do? 
A: You can only use an access token that is available in the supply. You must select a token that is 
available in the supply or, if this is not possible, not place an access token at all. 
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8. [Module: Development]: No Access (Development Card) 
 
Shortage of Access Tokens (new 2004-05-10) 
(See topic with the same title, above) 
 
 
 
Note: This is the first published version of this F A Q. 


