THE LOST MAPS

ICEBERG

Hex and Rules

Hex Templates
Hex Rules

The Iceberg is a sea hex, not a land hex. Place a number tile on the iceberg hex. Throughout the game, whenever that number is rolled, immediately retake one of the dice and re-roll it to determine which way the Iceberg “shifts.” The iceberg tile’s sides are marked 1-6. If the iceberg shifts in the direction of your ship, it is destroyed. Remove it from the board and return it to your stock. It may later be rebuilt at the normal cost.

(NOTE: In the newer artwork from Jasper, the sides of the Iceberg are not marked with numbers. Before rolling for the Icerberg, select which side of the tile is “1” and count clockwise. Just be sure that it’s publicly known and agreed upon BEFORE you roll the die.)

Icebergs do not affect roads, cities, or settlements.

The Pirate cannot be placed on the iceberg. Obviously, since it is a sea hex, neither can the Robber.

Closed Shipping Route:
So what happens if your Closed Shipping Route is broken into two? Then you now simply have two Open Shipping Routes.

Open Shipping Route:
But what happens if your Open Shipping Route is broken into two? In this case, the ships all “slide back” a space toward their homeport. This way no ships are left stranded in the middle of nowhere, untethered to any piece of land.

Variant Background:
The Iceberg is a fan-made variant created by Seth Tabberer. You can read the official rules here.

Changes to the original rules:
In the original variant, icebergs could destroy roads. Since that doesn’t make a ton of sense to us, we play with the iceberg only able to destroy ships. Also, the original rules do not specify what to do if an Open Shipping Route is broken in two, so we made a decision.

Optional Extra Rule for Open Shipping Routes: (Feb 2024)
If "sliding back" your ships results in leaving one of your settlements on an island stranded, then the shipping route leading up to that settlement is now open. However, if you have any Catan chits under that settlement, you lose one of them. You can gain this Catan chit back if you reconnect your shipping route with the settlement.
Thanks to James Buller for submitting this rule addition.

These maps are made available as a free resource for Catan players. They may not be reproduced for commercial purposes nor distributed on commercial sites. If you believe any map infringes a copyright you own, it will be removed immediately until the matter is resolved.

If you have a question about these maps and/or rules, please contact us. We welcome any feedback, suggestions or corrections.